--- title: "Cancel or Deactivate a User Account" slug: "deactivate-user-account" updated: 2023-11-06T21:19:06Z published: 2023-11-06T21:19:06Z canonical: "docs.viewlift.com/deactivate-user-account" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.viewlift.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Cancel or Deactivate a User Account Log into your **TOOLS** account and navigate to the **Users** section. [Search](https://docs.viewlift.com/docs/user#search-for-a-user) for the user record you want to cancel or deactivate. ## **Cancel a subscription** When you click to CANCEL, you are now presented with two options. The first is **CANCEL NOW** and the alternative option is **CANCEL AFTER BILLING PERIOD**. In both cases you will need to add a reason for the cancellation. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/15e0c142-c823-4c77-a8e8-9d32ca937982/Images/Documentation/image-1699294358095.png) **CANCEL NOW:** This option will change the user state from **COMPLETED** or **DEFERRED CANCELLATION** to **CANCELLED**. The user will be cancelled or deactivated immediately. **CANCEL AFTER BILLING PERIOD:** This option will change the user state from **COMPLETED** to **DEFERRED_CANCELLATION**. The user will have access until the end of the billing period and will not be renewed further. **Note**: Users can also self-service and cancel a subscription from their [Account Settings](/v1/docs/resubscribe-flow) page. ## Deactivate and cancel with a prorated refund You can deactivate and cancel a user account with a prorated refund. This will auto-execute a prorated refund, and cancel the user. When you deactivate the user, you will need to add a reason, similar to the CANCEL functionality. Check if the prorated refund has been processed (look at the [billing history section](https://docs.viewlift.com/v1/docs/user#add-purchase-and-add-plan) and the payment source like Stripe for this). Once a user is deactivated, that user account will be in a "Cancelled" state. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/15e0c142-c823-4c77-a8e8-9d32ca937982/Images/Documentation/image-1699294893857.png) ## Issue full refund The Deactivate Account feature does not issue the customer a full refund when that may be desired in some cases. If the user received a prorated refund with the Deactivate Account functionality, to secure the remaining refund, the customer must then raise it up with the payment handler. To prevent this scenario, you can manually process a full refund from the [Billing History & Offers](/v1/docs/user) section. Once the refund is complete, you can cancel the subscription from the **Account > Subscription Plans >** **Cancel Subscription** instead of **Deactivate Account**. Or, select the **Revoke** option on the manual refund modal. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/15e0c142-c823-4c77-a8e8-9d32ca937982/Images/Documentation/image-1699304800240.png)